Answering Your Questions About How To File For Divorce In Jacksonville or Duval County
Deciding to file for divorce is never an easy decision. But having the right team of Jacksonville and Duval County divorce lawyers to help you navigate this difficult process can make your divorce case much easier than trying to go it alone.
When cases involve child custody, alimony payments, or disagreements over finances or property, hiring a local divorce attorney can be the reason you get what you deserve – instead of getting screwed over.
The first thing that comes up when someone files for divorce is a whole lot of questions. Divorce proceedings can be overly complicated, but our divorce lawyers have decades of experience to use to your advantage. If you are thinking about filing for divorce in Jacksonville or Duval County, there are several advantages to having experienced Florida divorce lawyers on your side. Call our us at (904) 396-5557 to discuss your case with our divorce attorneys today.
If you’re filing for divorce in Jacksonville or Duval County, check out these five common questions about how to file for divorce in Jacksonville or Duval County:
Who can file for divorce in Florida?
Anyone who is in a licensed marriage and has been living in Florida for six months or more may file a Dissolution of Marriage form at their county clerk’s office, provided they view their marriage as “irretrievably broken.”
What does it mean to be a no-fault divorce state?
Florida’s no-fault divorce laws mean any partner involved in a marriage can file for divorce at any time and for any reason. Divorce courts in Florida will not be making a judgment on who was “at fault” for the dissolution of marriage.
What do I need to do in order to start my divorce case in Duval County?
The first step to file for divorce in Jacksonville or anywhere in Duval county is to fill out a Petition For Dissolution Of Marriage form. There are four different types of forms, and you can find them below:
Petition For Simplified Dissolution Of Marriage
This form is for the most simple divorce proceedings. It is for applicants with no children who have come to an agreement on finances and will not be seeking alimony payments. This is also called an “uncontested divorce.”
Petition For Dissolution Of Marriage With Dependent Or Minor Children
This form is for applicants who have children classified as dependents, or if the applicant or their spouse is currently pregnant.
Petition For Dissolution Of Marriage With Property But No Dependent Or Minor Children
This form is for applicants filing for divorce who do not have children but want a judge to settle disagreements regarding assets, debts, alimony payments, and property owned by one or both of the parties involved.
Petition For Dissolution Of Marriage With No Dependent Or Minor Children Or Property
This form is for applicants filing for divorce who do not have property or children involved in their divorce case, but are seeking a judge to decide on potential alimony payouts.
How much does it cost to file for divorce in Florida?
The cost for filing for divorce in Duval County and the rest of Florida is currently $421 for a Simplified Dissolution of Marriage and $431 for contested divorce cases. It is important that the individual filing for divorce has paid the necessary state fees in order to get the divorce process moving forward.
Do I need a lawyer for my divorce?
It’s no secret that divorce cases are never easy. If you anticipate having a disagreement with your spouse over finances, property, or child custody, hiring our Jacksonville and Duval County divorce attorneys may be the best call you make during your divorce case. Our experienced team of local divorce attorneys have the ability – to take the stress and worry out of your Duval County divorce case. Call us at (904) 396-5557 or fill out a contact form today.